Is there any hope for me?

Can I dream to be free?
Is there any hope for me?
With the guns and tanks pointed,
From my home I had to flee.

Can I dream to be someone,
Who can read and learn?
For the weapons have destroyed,
My temple of education.

Can I dream to sleep,
Without breaking into sobs and weeps?
My people have gone missing,
I keep searching for them in piles and heaps..

Can I dream to wake up,
To the sun and sky that’ll lift me up?
Not a nightmare,
That is waiting to gobble me up.

Can I dream to go home,
The place where we used to roam,
Without any fear,
I can’t remember it not being a war-zone.

Can I dream to be free,
From the shackles of this slavery?
There seems no way however,
I have to feed my family.

Can I dream to be free?
Is there any hope for me?
Can I be something more than,
What I think I’m destined to be?

Copyright © All Rights Reserved.

14 thoughts on “Is there any hope for me?

Leave a Reply

